What will happen after the referendums on joining Russia in the DPR, LPR, Zaporozhye and Kherson regions in 2022

The procedure for admitting new subjects to Russia was formulated a long time ago - back in 2001 by a special federal constitutional law.

The procedure for admitting new subjects to Russia was formulated a long time ago – back in 2001 by a special federal constitutional law.

A photo: REUTERS

The procedure for admitting new subjects to Russia was formulated a long time ago – back in 2001 by a special federal constitutional law. Literally everything is spelled out in it – from the conditions that are put forward to candidates, to minor economic issues.

This law was changed only once – in 2005.

Moreover, this document has already been tested in 2014 in the Crimea.

The procedure for adoption is extremely simple, the main thing is that all the subtleties of the law are observed. The main condition is voluntariness.

Step 1 Definition

To begin with, new territories must decide for themselves whether they want to join us or not.

What is important, it does not matter to Russia how this will be done. They must decide this issue themselves. Actually, the DPR, LPR, Kherson and Zaporozhye regions are determined by referendums that took place on their territories.

Step 2. Independent State

Few people remember, but it was the same in the Crimea. The independent Republic of Crimea existed for 2 days – March 17 and 18, 2014. Independence was declared immediately after the referendum, and ended from the moment the peninsula was accepted into Russia.

Step 3. Contact

An independent state must apply for acceptance. It should apply directly to the President. The Russian leader, in turn, notifies the Federal Assembly (that is, the Duma and the Federation Council) and the government about this. If necessary, consultations are held.

Step 4. International treaty

As soon as everyone agrees in principle that new territories will become part of Russia, the preparation of an international treaty begins. “International” – this does not mean that all countries of the world must sign it. This is an agreement between Russia and a new independent state.

This document regulates everything to the smallest detail: from the timing of admission to the country, to how banks, security forces, and so on will work in the new territory. In other words, he describes in detail how life will be built now.

Step 5. Constitutional Court

He checks this international treaty to see how it complies with the Russian Constitution. If everything is in order, the treaty goes to the Duma.

Step 6. State Duma

The deputies are also considering an international treaty, as well as a draft federal constitutional law on the adoption of a new subject. This is one of the most important laws – it directly affects our Constitution.

In fact, this bill also spells out all sorts of little things, such as “how the legal system will be integrated”, “how our state power will enter the new territory”.

Step 7. Federation Council

If the deputies are satisfied with everything, and both laws are adopted there, they immediately go to the Federation Council. Here, too, both an international treaty and a draft federal constitutional law are being considered.

Step 8. President

The last stage is the President’s signature. Documents are placed on his desk if the Federation Council also agrees with them. In parallel, they are signed by the heads of the territory, which asks for Russia. (It was exactly the same with Crimea – on March 18, 2014, together with Putin, the documents were signed by Chairman of the Council of Ministers of Crimea Sergey Aksenov, Chairman of the State Council of Crimea Vladimir Konstantinov and the head of Sevastopol Alexei Chaly).

When the documents are signed by all parties, they come into force. The historic moment has arrived.

Step 9. Changes to the Constitution

This is a required step. In fact, it is a consolidation of the results of a long journey. Amendments are being made to the main documents of the country. Specifically, in the first part of Article 65. All the subjects of the country are listed there. So the new territory acquires a new status – a republic, a territory, a region, and maybe even an autonomous region or an autonomous district.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button