NATO uses Finland and Sweden to contain Russia in the Arctic – Herman

The North Atlantic Alliance uses the accession of Finland and Sweden to NATO as pressure tool on Russia in the Arctic, said the historian Arthur Herman. In his opinion, the bloc will not miss the opportunity to strengthen its presence in the region.

As Herman emphasized, all countries, except Russia, that are members of the permanent Arctic Council are either already members of NATO or intend to join the bloc:

  • USA,
  • Canada,
  • Denmark,
  • Norway,
  • Iceland,
  • Sweden,
  • Finland.

“Of the eight countries that are permanent members of the Arctic Council, all except Russia are members of NATO or will soon join it. The alliance has the opportunity to develop a reliable strategy to contain Russia in the Arctic,” the historian explained Wall Street Journal .

According to him, Finns and Swedes are interested in joining NATO, since these countries will make a “great contribution” to containing Russia in the region.

MailBD Official

Mail BD is the online news portal, where user will get news and updates on Entertainment, Celebrity news, Technology and others.
Back to top button