Kichenok and Zimmermann say goodbye to the WTA 250 tournament in Hobart

The WTA was created in 1973 by the American tennis player Billie Jean King.  (Infobae)
The WTA was created in 1973 by the American tennis player Billie Jean King. (Infobae)

the belgian Kirsten FlipkensWTA number 31 and German player Laura Siegemundnumber 29 of the WTA fulfilled the predictions by winning the semifinals of the WTA 250 tournament in Hobart in one hour and thirty-nine minutes per 6-2 and 7(7)-6(5) to the Ukrainian tennis player Nadiia Kichenoknumber 84 of the WTA and the Belgian tennis player Kimberly Zimmermann, number 46 of the WTA. With this result, the couple manages to qualify for the final of the WTA 250 tournament in Hobart.

The match statistics indicate that the winners managed to break their opponents’ serve 5 times, while the losing couple did so 3 times. Likewise, Flipkens and Siegemund were 73% effective on the first serve and managed to win 63% of the service points, while their opponents were 66% effective and managed to win 49% of the service points. To conclude, in relation to the fouls, the winning players committed 3 double faults and the eliminated players made 2 double faults.

Flipkens and Siegemund will meet in the final of the tournament with the winners of the match that will face Viktorija Golubic Y Panna Udvardy against Ulrikke Eikeri Y Catherine Harrison.

in the tournament of Hobart (WTA Hobart) a total of 16 couples participated. In addition, it is held between January 9 and 14 on an outdoor hard court.

A sport that has come to stay

Tennis is undoubtedly a classic sport. Every year, four tournaments (the so-called ‘Grand Slams’) gather all the world’s attention: the season begins with the australian opencontinue with the clay track of Roland Garrosthen moves to London with the celebration of Wimbledon and finally ends up in the United States with the US Open.

In the rest of the year, the players continue to compete around the world, completing seasons on different surfaces: hard or fast track, clay either grass.

Tennis originated in Europe at the end of the 18th century and since 1926 it is a professional sport date the tour started. It was especially popular among the wealthy classes in English-speaking countries, but is now a global sport. It’s divided in two categories: the men’s competition (ATP) and the women’s (WTA).


The ATP (Association of Tennis Professionals) is the association of professional tennis players that brings together players from all over the world in the men’s category.

The ATP tour holds several tournaments throughout the year: ATP Masters 1000 (where the winner of the tournament will take 1000 points to add to the ATP ranking), ATP 500 and ATP 250. Below these tournaments, in a lower step is the ATP Challenger Tour, where the future stars of world tennis fight. In addition, he is also in charge of the Grand Slams.

The fight to be the best in history is still active in the men’s category. The Spanish Rafael Nadalthe Serbian Novak Djokovic and the swiss Roger Federer they compete to break all the records and achieve the greatest number of Grand Slams. The three players are often referred to as ‘big three‘ in front of the new generations or ‘Next Gen’.

These promising tennis stars have entered the global tennis circuit with a bang, as in the case of the Greek Stefanos Tsitsipasfrom Italian Matteo Berrettinithe German Alexander Zverev or the russians Medvedev Y Rublev.

Novak Djokovic currently holds the record for weeks at number 1 of the ATP rankings, closely followed by Roger Federer, the legendary American player Pete Sampras, Iván Lendl and Jimmy Connors.


The WTA (Women’s Tennis Association) was created in 1973 by the famous former tennis player billie jean king. The Californian won 39 Grand Slam titles during her active period and is a benchmark and icon for the world of tennis.

Today, there are many women’s tennis players vying to stay at the top of the world tennis elite and surpass Stefanie Graff or Serena Williams. Players like the Polish Iga Świątek (Roland Garros champion in 2021), the Greek Maria Sakkari either Paula Badosa (the first Spanish winner of Indian Wells) are fighting to stay in the top 10 of the WTA ranking.

In the year 2022, the Australian tennis player Asleigh Barty announced his final retirement from tennis and ended an impressive career with several Grand Slams behind him. Now is the opportunity for the other players to take over from him and become number 1.

Keep reading:

More news

Note source: Narrative

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button