Ephemeris of December 12

On December 12, 2002, the Nicaraguan Parliament lifted the immunity of former President of the Republic Arnoldo Aleman, accused of money laundering.

Other ephemeris:

1492.- Christopher Columbus orders the construction of Fort Natividad, where he leaves a garrison with the remains of the ship Santa María, lost when it ran aground in Hispaniola (Haiti).

1814.- The Spanish garrison of Bogotá honorably capitulates before Simón Bolívar.

1818.- The Congress of the United Provinces of the Río de la Plata recognizes the State of Chile as a free and independent nation.

1901.- Guiglielmo Marconi sends the first message by wireless telegraphy that crossed the Atlantic, from Great Britain to Newfoundland (Canada).

1911.- George V of England founds the city of New Delhi, where the seat of the British colonial government in India is established.

1915.- The first all-metal airplane, invented by the German aviator and industrialist Hugo Junkers, is presented in Berlin.

1924.- The La Cierva autogyro makes its journey from Cuatro Vientos to Getafe, in Madrid.

1954.- Launching in Newport News, Virginia (USA), of the largest ship in the world up to then, the aircraft carrier “Forrestal”.

1956.- Fidel Castro and some of his men opposed to the Fulgencio Batista regime enter the Sierra Maestra after disembarking in the province of Oriente on the island of Cuba.

1979.- An underwater earthquake in the port of Tumaco (Colombia) measuring between 7.7 and 8.1 Richter degrees causes nearly 500 deaths and a similar number of injuries.

1981.- The Peruvian, Javier Pérez de Cuellar, is elected Secretary General of the UN.

1992.- Transfer of the mortal remains of Pablo Neruda and his companion, Matilde Urrutia, to Isla Negra (Chile).

1993.- The new Russian Constitution is approved in a referendum by majority, the first to include the principle of separation of powers.

1994.- South Africa rejoins UNESCO after 38 years of absence.

1996.- The Government and the Guatemalan guerrillas sign the pact in Madrid for the incorporation of the guerrillas into the political life of the country.

1999.- The Maltese oil tanker “Erika” capsizes off the Brittany coast, spilling more than 10,000 tons of fuel into the sea.

2003.- The president of Peru, Alejandro Toledo, calls for the resignation of all his ministers after complaints that implicate them in various cases of corruption.

2004.- Sony launches the PlayStation Portable (PSP) in Japan.

2006.- The former Ethiopian dictator Mengistu Haile Mariam is found guilty of genocide by a court in Addis Ababa.

2010.- Kosovo celebrates the first parliamentary elections since its unilateral independence from Serbia in February 2008.

2013.- North Korea executes the number two of the regime, Jang Song-thaek, uncle of the North Korean leader, sentenced to death for corruption.

2016.- The Portuguese Antonio Guterres is sworn in as UN Secretary General.

.- The EU and Cuba sign their first bilateral agreement on political dialogue and cooperation, after almost three decades.

2019.- Former Bolivian President Evo Morales arrives in Argentina and asks to be accepted as a refugee after his resignation from office under pressure from the opposition and the Army.

2020.- The Iranian journalist Ruholá Zam, director of the Amadnews website, is hanged after being sentenced to death for inciting the protests against the regime at the end of 2017.


1821.- Gustave Flaubert, French novelist.

1863.- Edvard Munch, Norwegian painter.

1915.- Frank Sinatra, American singer and actor.

1934.- Miguel de la Madrid, former president of Mexico.

1946.- Emerson Fittipaldi, Brazilian motoring champion.

1950.- Francisco Montesinos, Spanish couturier and designer.


1777.- Albert Von Haller, Swiss physiologist.

1859.- Robert Stephenson, English engineer.

1985.- Anne Baxter, American film actress.

1989.- Carlos Barral, Spanish poet, editor and politician.

1990.- Concha Piquer, Spanish singer.

1993.- Jozef Antall, historian, Prime Minister of Hungary.

2006.- Peter Boyle, American actor.

2007.- Josep Guinovart, Spanish painter.

.- Ike Turner, American singer.

2008.- Tassos Papadopoulos, former president of Cyprus.

2016.- Javier Echevarría, prelate of Opus Dei.

2019.- Danny Aiello, American actor.

2020.- John le Carré, British writer.

2021.- Vicente Fernández, Mexican singer. EFE


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button